Fairborn City Schools Alumni Hall of Honor

Fairborn City Schools held the 25th Annual Hall of Honor in April 2012. Over 169 Fairborn Alumni, community members and staff members have been inducted into this esteemed group.

History of the Hall of Honor:

In the fall of 1986, a citizens' committee drafted the bylaws for a hall of honor to recognize outstanding alumni, educators and community leaders. In December of 1987, the Fairborn Board of Education with the strong support of Superintendent Dr. Stephen P. Scovic, passed a resolution establishing the Fairborn City Schools' Hall of honor and pledging its support in perpetuity. The Hall of Honor recognizes the most prestigious men and women who have had brilliant careers and given unselfish service to others.

The bylaws if the Hall of Honor specify its purpose: to recognize former students, former employees and community members who, through their accomplishments, bring high honor to the Fairborn City Schools so that present-day students may find identity with the past and set goals for the future. A selection committee and induction committee were established to carry out this mission. The bylaws limit the number of selections each year to a maximum of seven persons. No more than two of the recipients per year may be in the category of former employees or other non-graduates. The criteria for consideration includes: significant achievements while a student in the Fairborn City Schools, outstanding achievements in vocational pursuits, extraordinary contributions in community and/or governmental affairs, substantial philanthropic involvement and/or meritorious recognition for some action taken or provided. For former school employees and other citizens, an additional standard is applied: exemplary service to Fairborn City Schools.

Nominations for Hall of Honor must be received by September 1st of each year. Any person may submit the name and accomplishments of a worth candidate.

Giving Levels:

The Fairborn Hall of Honor has established "Giving Levels" for community members, former inductees and others to donate to this worthwhile program. The Hall of Honor is funded entirely by voluntary donations from the community. Giving levels include:

\$25 Blue Donor

\$50 White Donor

\$100 Skyhawk Donor

\$250+ Hall of Honor Patron

Other:

The names of all donors at all levels are printed each April in the Hall of Honor program.

The Hall of Honor Committees:

Ed Gibbons, Nancy Sturtz, Barbara Parsons, Pam Gayheart, Cindy Harshbarger, Fred Rufener, Dave Scarberry, Mary Spahr, Stephanie Webb, Judy Hobbs, Mary Ann Morgret, Jack Norris, Carol Baugh, Teresa Boney, Bob Carico, Debby Fields, Amy Gayheart.